Australia Bound

So it’s only a few days away and we will be back in Australia. Wow what a year. I thought I’d write a few words to try to express how we feel returning but it’s not easy, here goes anyway.

Yesterday Kirana was asking me, what do you say when someone asks, so how was your trip. I suppose we all feel like it hasn’t been a trip like a holiday is. It’s been an experience, yes many say of a lifetime and I would say that, but it’s certainly been an experience filled with lots of fun and lots of challenges.
It’s a tricky one to explain as living on a boat is not normal and to try to explain family life on a boat is hard. I would say it’s the extremes. It’s amazingly fantastic and then can be incredibly hard. Your living in a confined space and moving around a lot so nothing seems to be consistent. It is fantastic having your home with you all the time and our boat was a great set up for the 5 of us where we could all escape when we needed to and believe me those times were often.
I loved The amazingly beautiful remote places you can go to and only people who own boats can get to. Being able to just jump into the water when your hot. Sailing along and feeling invigorated thst your just using the wind to move to your next destination. Feeling self sufficient.
Sailing is a challenge in it’s self. For me it certainly has been. I grew up on the Yorkshire moors for gods sake, until I moved to Bali water wasn’t my thing. I’m also a worry wart, a little more than I realized so it certainly has challenged a lot of more fears.
When we left at the beginning of last year after selling our house and everything we owned , I remember thinking to myself why am I doing this. The answer was because I want to spend the time with my family. But not just with them, fully submerged in each other’s lives. Yep a boat will do that. But for me it has been incredible and a great success. I have watched each of them grow a lot. It’s not been easy for them at all. School has been very hard and we all totally under estimated how hard that would be. But out of it they have had to teach them selves how to learn independently. Kirana would say she now understands how important education is and that you get out of it what you put into it. It’s also hard with no internet. Just to go and find internet it’s in the dingy drive to the dock walk to a cafe only often to find the internet was too slow to download the information she needed, so it was all a constant challenge. Having said that Kiranas end results were very good. Xavier’s schooling was easier as it was all on usbs infact a fantastic set up he’s also do ne very well. Xavier keeps saying he can’t wait to go to school and study with other kids. They’ve also had to cope with very little friends. Xavier was lucky he met quite of few of his age but there are no I mean no 16 and 19 year olds cruising. Well not that we met anyway.
So the boat and Markus are currently in Dominica and slowly making there way towards the north of the Caribbean and possibly to America and when he’s ready we will see Planet Ocean.
We have met some amazing people whilst being in the Caribbean. The sailing community Is amazingly friendly and fun. We miss them all and wish them all a great journey.
It has truly been an amazing journey for all of us.
So what are we all looking forward to coming back to. FRIENDS. All of us have missed friends so much. I’m looking forward to teaching yoga again and just coming back to lovely Australia.
See you soon.

Here’s some pictures of Bali for you all!

Hotel in Benoa

Hotel in Benoa

bali-2

Cousin Kara telling Kirana a story.

Cousin Kara telling Kirana a story.

This is the usual method of travel.

This is the usual method of travel.

Family gathering

Family gathering

We were brought breakfast every morning at the Villa we were staying in.

We were brought breakfast every morning at the Villa we were staying in.

Amed

Amed

Sunrise at Amed

Sunrise at Amed

Dolphins

Dolphins

bali-11 bali-12

Ubud

Ubud

Ubud

Ubud

No trip to Bali is complete without the food!

No trip to Bali is complete without the food!

Watching movies with cousins.

Watching movies with cousins.

2 thoughts on “Australia Bound

  1. ……and your FRIENDS are here just waiting to have you all back…. everything is going to be ok!

    Safe trip HOME

    Jo x✈️🌅

    >

  2. Thank you Amber & family for the wonderful journey that you shared. I loved reading the updates on your adventure & how well they were told. I loved every post! Rach xx

Leave a Reply

